Evolution as a Religion by Mary Midgley. A Review

by

Mary Midgley is philosophy’s answer to Miss Marple. An elderly British lady with a calm and leisurely style, but she is a person who is brilliantly clear-sighted and relentless in her arguments.

Her major argument in this book is that many a naive scientist behaves like any other evangelist when it comes to spreading The Word that life on Earth is purposeless through and through. She points out that to maintain this, is as human-centered as to claim the opposite. But these over-jealous scientists just don’t see that.

Despite her misgivings when it comes to an exaggerated belief in science, she remains a convinced Darwinist.

Although I don’t agree with everything Midgley writes, I wish I had read this book before I wrote my thesis!

Tags: ,

Leave a comment